About the Authors

Meet our bloggers!

Albert Bell
Albert Bell
Albert Bell writes adult and middle-grade mysteries. His Roman series features Pliny the Younger, an historical person. Barbara D’Amato called the first book, All Roads Lead to Murder, “wonderful.” Library Journal named the second book, The Blood of Caesar, one of the 5 Best Mysteries of 2008, “a masterpiece of the historical mystery genre.” Steven Saylor called the third installment, The Corpus Conundrum (2011), “inspired.” Bell also writes middle-grade mysteries and a contemporary mystery, Death Goes Dutch, set in Grand Rapids. In addition, he is the author of two non-fiction books: Exploring the New Testament World and Perfect Game, Imperfect Lives, a reflection on the 1950s and Don Larsen’s perfect game in the 1956 World Series.

Janet Dawson

As a child, Janet Dawson wrote mysteries in longhand, influenced by her favorite sleuth, Nancy Drew. Now Janet writes mysteries about Oakland private eye Jeri Howard. Her first book, Kindred Crimes, won the St. Martin’s Press/Private Eye Writers of America contest for Best Private Eye Novel, and was nominated for multiple awards. She has written 10 books in the Jeri Howard series, most recently, Bit Player. Her short stories include Macavity winner “Voice Mail,” and Shamus nominee “Slayer Statute.” Her suspense novel What You Wish For was published in 2012. Death Rides the Zephyr, her train mystery set in 1952 aboard the sleek silver superliner California Zephyr, came out in 2013. Janet is an Oklahoma native, brought up in Colorado, and has lived in the Bay Area for over 30 years. She’s worked as a former newspaper reporter and Navy journalist, and now works for the University of California. Passions include gardening and cats.

Sara Hoskinson Frommer

Sara Hoskinson Frommer, author of Death Climbs a Tree, Witness in Bishop Hill, The Vanishing Violinist, Murder & Sullivan, Buried in Quilts, and Murder in C Major, lives in Bloomington, Indiana with her husband, Gabe, a retired professor of psychology at Indiana University. They have two adult sons, Charles and Joe.
Joan Spencer, the viola-playing sleuth in Sara’s novels, doesn’t go looking for trouble, but it keeps falling in her lap, as when her brother arrives early for her daughter’s wedding in Her Brother’s Keeper (Perseverance Press, 2013).
Long a member of the Bloomington Symphony Orchestra’s viola section, Sara now tutors an adult new reader in the VITAL program of the Monroe County Public Library. In addition to her mystery novels, she has written very short, easy-to-read books of fiction for adult new readers, published by Laubach Literacy International’s New Readers Press. Five of them are mysteries.

Wendy Hornsby
Published internationally, Long Beach resident Wendy Hornsby is the author of nine mystery novels, seven of them in the Maggie MacGowen series, and many short stories. She received the prestigious Edgar Allan Poe Award, the “Edgar,” and its French equivalent, le Grand Prix de littérature policiere, among others. The Paramour’s Daughter (Perseverance Press) is the latest adventure of filmmaker Maggie MacGowen. Wendy is a professor of History at Long Beach City College.

Camille Minichino

Camille Minichino is a retired physicist turned writer. As Camille Minichino, she’s the author of the Periodic Table Mysteries. As Margaret Grace, she writes the Miniature Mysteries, based on her lifelong hobby. As Ada Madison, she has launched a new series, academic mysteries featuring Professor Sophie Knowles, math teacher at fictional college in Massachusetts. Soon, every aspect of her life will be a mystery series. Camille has also published articles for popular magazines and teaches science and writing workshops in and around the Bay Area.

Meredith Phillips

Meredith Phillips is a publishing partner and the editor of Perseverance Press/John Daniel & Co., an award-winning independent press that has published over 50 books of traditional mystery fiction. PP/JD can be visited at www.danielpublishing.com/perseverance .

Lev Raphael

Lev Raphael is the prize-winning author of eight Nick Hoffman mysteries and the author or co-author of fifteen other books in genres from memoir to biography. His work has been translated into a dozen languages; he has done hundreds of invited readings on three continents; he’s been anthologized several dozen times in the U.S. and Britain. The veteran of many national and international book tours, he has reviewed for the Washington Post and other newspapers and magazines and was the longtime Mysteries Columnist for The Detroit Free Press. He’s been an academic, a radio talk show host, and a DJ. His current and future literary papers were recently purchased by The Michigan State University Libraries. He currently blogs on books, art, culture, and politics for The Huffington Post, and reviews books for public radio in mid-Michigan.

Sheila Simonson
Sheila was born in Montana, educated in Oregon and Washington, and taught a long time at Clark College in Vancouver WA (English and history).  She’s had eleven novels published, four of them regency romances and the rest mysteries.  Of her mystery series from Perseverance Press, the first, Buffalo Bill’s Defunct, won a WILLA award from Women Writing the West for best soft-cover fiction (2009).  The current mystery, An Old Chaos, involves a disastrous mudslide, and the upcoming one, Beyond Confusion, chronicles an attack on a public library.  Her earlier Lark Dodge mystery series is being reissued in eBook format by uncialpress.com with Larkspur out in 2011 and Skylark in February 2012.  She’s married to Mickey, has a son, Eric, and lives in Vancouver.  She enjoys travel and cookery.

Shelley Singer
Shelley Singer has had 13 novels and several short stories published, most of them mysteries, including the six books in the Jake Samson series. Her most recent book is Blackjack, a near-future thriller, written as Lee Singer for some reason. She teaches writing online and does manuscript consulting. She lives in Sonoma County, California, with two dogs, a cat, and the love of her life.

Lea Wait

Lea Wait is the author of the Shadows Antique Print Mystery series, starring antique print dealer and community college professor Maggie Summer. The first book in the series, Shadows at the Fair, was an Agatha Finalist for Best First Mystery Novel. It was followed by Shadows on the Coast of Maine, Shadows on the Ivy, Shadows at the Spring Show, and, most recently, Shadows of a Down East Summer. Lea received her B.A from Chatham College in Pittsbugh, and her M.A. and doctorate from NYU. While she was raising the four daughters she adopted from Asia, she worked for AT&T and was active in adoption advocacy. Now married to artist Bob Thomas, she lives on the coast of Maine, and writes historical novels for ages 8-14 as well as the Shadows series.

Nancy Means Wright
Nancy Means Wright has published 16 books, including 5 mystery novels from St. Martin’s Press, and most recently two historicals: The Nightmare: A Mystery with Mary Wollstonecraft (Perseverance Press,’11) and its prequel, Midnight Fires,’10). Her children’s mysteries received both an Agatha Award and Agatha nomination. Short stories have appeared in American Literary Review, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, Level Best Books, and elsewhere. Longtime teacher, actress-director, and Bread Loaf Scholar for a first novel, Nancy lives with her spouse and two Maine Coon cats in Middlebury, Vermont.


2 Responses

  1. Wendy, what a great blog. I love to see authors networking.

    I will tell Mom “hello” for you. I think you are in a picture she gave me of her high school girlfriends that I have displayed in my apartment.

    Holly Vance
    (Cindy Lynn’s daughter)

  2. I nominated you for the Liebster blogger award.

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: