Life’s Phases

TWISTEDTHREADSLea Wait here, wishing you (a bit late) a Happy New Year!Lea on Wiscasset town pier

New years are the time to think back on the past …and to make plans for the future. For almost thirty years now at this time of year I’ve made a list of my goals for the coming year. Reviewing them during the year helps me stay on course; focus on the big picture, not just the day-to-day necessities. When I started making those lists   I was depressed, working in a large corporation, and single. My children were teenagers, I was caring for my mother, and the lists I made were steps to be where I hoped my future would  be: living in Maine and writing fiction.

I moved to Maine in 1998. My thirteenth book, TWISTED THREADS: A MAINELY NEEDLEPOINT mystery, was just published. I’m also married to the man I’d loved most of my life, I have eight grandchildren, and my life revolves  around my writing, my husband’s art, and my family. I’ve never been happier.

When I think about the thirty  (yes – thirty) years I spent in corporate life, they now seem only a bridge between my childhood, my college years, and my life today.

I can divide my life further: there were the years I lived in Greenwich Village, working during the day and going to grad school at night. The four years in my twenties when I was married. The years when my daughters were young and I was very involved in adoption and adoption advocacy. The years of caring for my mother full-time. The years when only a little of what I wrote was published. Some of those years were wonderful; some were not.  But all those years are a part of who I am today. I wouldn’t write what I do or live the way I do without every one of those phases.

And at this time of year, as I plan for 2015 and beyond, I know plans can and will be interrupted by life. Unanticipated events can change everything.

But, for now, life is good. I’m writing. My husband is  painting. We love living in Maine, supporting each other in our chosen work, and sharing good food, good friends, and good memories.

At this beginning of 2015, I wish you the same.

4 Responses

  1. Lovely piece, Lea. Brava!

  2. Thank you, Tom!

  3. Just this minute finished reading “Twisted Threads” and enjoyed it very much. Good for you for starting a new series in a setting you know how to exploit in the best sense of the word.

  4. So glad you enjoyed it, Sara! Thank you for letting me know!

Leave a Reply

