Sorting Out My Days

I retired a month ago. One of my friends gave me a plaque that reads: “Retirement is your reward for never having strangled any of your bosses.”

Indeed. When I think of some of those people, my fingers start to itch.

Anyway . . .

Each morning during the week, I wake up feeling amazed: wow, I don’t have to get up and go to work!

This is a big deal. You see, for thirty-plus years I got up very early so that I could write before going to work. Over the last couple of years, very early translated into four o’clock in the morning. This is no doubt why I would doze off while reading a book at eight-thirty in the evening. It really startles the cat who happens to be sitting on my lap when I drop the book on the floor.

So getting up at six or six-thirty really feels like sleeping in. Lollygagging under the covers till seven in the morning feels like I’m a slugabed.

I’ve been figuring out my daily routine. Writing, of course, is paramount. I have a homemade sign taped to my computer desk that reads, “WRITE FIRST.”

It’s a dictum I don’t always follow. Usually I write after I have breakfast and read the morning newspaper. Now that I am retired, the hour or so that I spent writing before going to work can now stretch as long as I like.

A pattern is emerging. I write for several hours, then I go for a walk in the middle of the afternoon. After that, who knows? I can do what I like. Putter around the house or garden. Or nap on the sofa. Or read.

I’ve recently gotten back to sewing. I used to sew quite a bit. Then it seemed to go by the wayside, because I didn’t have enough time for it.

Of course, there’s always something that gets in the way of that morning writing schedule. The Friday morning doctor’s appointment, because eight o’clock was the first available time. The Tuesday morning farmer’s market. Monday’s birding trip.

Or what happened one morning last week when I sat down in front of the computer to discover it had been infected by a virus. I didn’t get any writing done that morning. I disconnected the computer and took it to my computer guy in Berkeley. Fortunately he was able to deal with the situation and update my computer protection.

I’ve also told myself that sometimes the day unfolds the way it does without going along with my plans. When that happens, it just have to go along. I envisioned working on some Christmas sewing projects this afternoon.

Instead, I’m working on this blog post. Once I get it scheduled, I’m going for a walk on this sunny December afternoon. After that, I’ll make a pot of turkey soup and then – who knows?

Retirement – I love it!

2 Responses

  1. Enjoy doing whatever, whenever. It took me about a minute to get used to. Just think, for you there are no more “weekends” or Monday mornings.

  2. I “retired” from full time teaching twelve years ago and am now so wholly, busily involved in “life” that I’m ready to retire again from retirement–join this? Do that? (Or am I talking about my ultimate demise?) I think for most of us creative types we keep adding rather than subtracting.

Leave a Reply

