Now What?

The book is finished.

I’ve printed out the manuscript of the train book – Death Rides The Zephyr. It’s ready to mail.

I breathe a sigh of relief. Now I can relax.

Now I can clean my office. As I may have mentioned, I have been threatening to do that for, oh, fifteen years.

I follow that dictum: shove everything to one side and write. Believe me, a lot of things have piled up.

Now what?

I guess I could sleep in for a few days. But I probably won’t.

You see, I get up early in the morning to write. I’ve been doing that for nearly thirty years. The habit is firmly ingrained.

Even when I’m between books, I continue with the writing schedule.

After all, I have other books to write, other ideas that have been percolating in my head, wanting their turns at moving from thought to words in my computer and, eventually, words on pages.

One of those ideas is for a new Jeri Howard book. There are other ideas as well. One idea might be standalones. Another could be the start of a new series.

So maybe I’ll sleep a little later tomorrow. That is, if the cats will let me. They’re used to my early morning schedule as well.

But very soon I will get started on the next writing project.

And I will now do my book-is-finished happy dance.

4 Responses

  1. Bravo! Does it occur to anybody out there that writers have an addiction to writing?

  2. Congratulations! Treat yourself to something fun.

  3. Probably not a train ride, not this year, anyway!

  4. Huzzahs! I know the addiction. And I have the same problem with my two cats waking me up. They don’t care about books, alas–unless a bit of tuna has spilled out on one..

Leave a Reply

