Round Robin: Thinking About Social Media

Our favorite harbinger of spring, that round robin.

Our favorite harbinger of spring, that round robin.

Time once again for our rotund avian friend, the Round Robin. This time the Perseverance Press authors discuss social media. Love it, hate it, somewhere in between, it’s still part of the business of writing. Here’s are a few questions for our PP writers (and our web maven Sue Trowbridge), and their responses, regarding social media and how they use it.

Which platforms are you using or dabbling, or dipping your toes? Do you find it useful? Is it a major time suck? Why do you like it? What turns you off? Would you include blogging with things like Facebook and Twitter, or is it something else entirely?

Lea Wait: Although I’ve grown to look at all my contacts with potential readers as marketing, I do categorize types of contacts differently. For me there are two kinds of blogging. One is the regular, getting-to-know you, blog, where you have repeat readers; the others is the “pleased-to-meet-you” cocktail party guest blog where you in effect leave your calling card/book mark and hope the reader remembers you or checks out your book. I blog with Perseverance, of course. I also blog regularly (3-4 times a month + group blogs on Sundays) with www.mainecrimewriters.com). I do guest blogs or interviews perhaps 1-2 times a month.

The only other social media I do is Facebook. I don’t have an Author page. I only have about 2300 “friends” so I’m not near needing one, and I think most people like the idea of being a “friend” instead of a “fan” – although they don’t call it a “fan page” any more. I probably spend a couple of hours a day on FB. I post all my blogs there, and other blogs of my friends. I write short reviews of books I enjoy. I comment on life in Maine, on events I’m involved with, and on what I’m writing. I also comment a lot on my friends’ posts – from wishing them happy birthday to liking their cat and baby photos and so forth. I do try to be their “friend” – not just an author who posts about her writing. I think it pays off when I have a new book out. At first it felt awkward – now I actually enjoy it.  Plus it’s a way to keep in touch with actual long lost friends and relatives.

I haven’t gotten involved with any of the other social media, although people have tried to talk me into Twitter and Pinterest. At the moment, one “time suck” a day is plenty – plus the blogging. If I added up the number of hour a week I spent blogging and FBing . . . it would be a lot.

Laura Crum: I have been blogging for five years at the equestrianink blogspot and have found it a very effective way to reach potential readers of my horse-themed mystery series. Since the readers of this blog are interested in horses and writing about horses, it is very much my target audience. My backlist is now up on Kindle and it is easy for me to see the bumps in sales when I do a promotion through the blog. So I would say that it is very useful. I also enjoy the discussions with other horse bloggers. Since I don’t like to take the time away from home/family to do physical book tours, etc, the blogging has been a great tool for me, enabling me to both find new readers and connect with fans.

I’ve been using Facebook for just over a year. I resisted it for a long time, because I knew (and I was right) that it would be addictive for me and a major time suck, as you say. However, it does work. On my last Kindle promotion, many “friends” shared the info and within hours of the sharing the sales more than quadrupled. I’m pretty sure that I have reached a lot of potential fans of my series through Facebook. But even so, I do waste time there, for sure.

I’ve resisted trying any other social media because I feel that I give enough time to Facebook and blogging as it is.

Lev Raphael: I signed up for Twitter and Facebook because I thought they’d be interesting ways to get my work out there beyond what I’d previously done.  Frankly, they’ve been more important in terms of fans finding me (which isn’t quite the same thing), and for learning about news, books, authors, or places I might not discover otherwise.  The downside is what everyone knows: Facebook can be a black hole. I try to limit my time there to, say, fifteen minutes in the morning.  I’m not always successful.  However, the days I stay away from it I tend not to miss it.

What I dislike most about Facebook is that people often misread things there and take offense quickly without thinking through their reactions.  Twitter and Facebook are both very cold ways of interacting that can create hot reactions.  They lack crucial basics of human communication: tone of voice, facial expression, body language, and the ability to repeat or backtrack or correct.  I also think people in a lousy mood can go ballistic on both those social web sites, take out their bad moods or work out their problems on others.   The quick nature of both media can bring out the bitchiness in some people, and too frequently does.  I’ve seen people de-friended on Facebook for ridiculous reasons.

I also think that Facebook can elicit inappropriate sharing from people who don’t know when to stop posting.  I’m not talking about authors telling fans and friends about meals or vacations, alerting them to readings or book sales or new books. When an author brags about royalties, that’s crossing a line – but then the problem with Facebook is that the lines are blurry anyway because the whole thing is so removed from reality.

Nancy Means Wright: I’m on Facebook with both a personal page and my Mary Wollstonecraft page, which early on attracted over 900 people – but I can’t see it has sold many books. People on FB don’t want to read a lot of “Buy Me” posts. So I try to entertain with lighter fare. Moreover, FB doesn’t show my photos, et al. the way it used to, so the page isn’t as interesting as it once was.

Goodreads (now acquired by Amazon) is helpful: I offer three or four Giveaways of each new book and usually have just under a thousand people wanting a copy. Sometimes I get a review, as well, and recently a reviewer of The Nightmare won $50 for her delightful review sent to Bas Bleu catalogue. I also post Giveaways in Library Thing, and might or might not get a review there. I’m on Linked In, but doubt it sells books. No Twitter at this point—I simply haven’t time!

I’m on listservs (chatrooms) for Crimethrutime,  Dorothy L, Historical Excerpts group, MMA, MWA, LLDreamspell, Red Room. And other subgroups within larger groups. I’m on Linked In, too, and seem to attract friends, if not sales.  I’m on two group blogs: PP of course, and Vermont Book Shelf, which is just for Vermont fiction writers. In a sense, blogs count as social media, since we do give and get comments. I make a point, too, of commenting on blogs by people who comment on mine. A courtesy – but I usually find them interesting, and learn something new.

Is social media a time suck? To a degree, yes – it keeps my name alive. But everyone is out there trying to promote his/her book, offering free e-book copies, et al. – and I’m just one of hundreds or thousands.

As a former teacher, though, I like to help others in any way I can. It’s in the blood.

Sara Hoskinson Frommer: Unless you count DorothyL, I don’t even dip my toes in.  Time pressure, for sure.  And I’m leery of Facebook. Blogging doesn’t worry me in the same way.  Not sure why.  Except that there too I protect my time.

Sheila Simonson: The main problem with social media is the way they suck up time.  I use Facebook and Linked In, though not as well as I’d like to.  It would be helpful if each medium would set up a user-friendly tutorial exploring all the possibilities, and if that’s not likely, perhaps some kindly expert somewhere could summarize.

Camille Minichino: When one of my stepdaughters was in college in San Diego, she’d send us postcards. “I’m in the library studying,” she’d write.

“No, you’re not,” her father and I would respond (to each other), “You’re in the library writing postcards to all your family and friends.”

That was about 20 years ago. That same “girl” is now on Facebook, posting up to the minute reports on what she’s doing. “Hubby and I are enjoying a date night,” she posts.

“No, you’re not,” her father and I say. “You’re on Facebook.”

In other words, Facebook hasn’t changed who we are; it’s simply our current tool. I try to use it the way I use any tool—to serve my needs, under my control. Not that it always works that way, but it’s my choice, and I can never blame it for time wasted. 

Albert Bell: I must admit that I view social media with suspicion. That’s due partly to my age (late 60s) and partly to my temperament (deeply introverted). I don’t want people following me, on Twitter or in any other fashion. Nor do I want to follow anyone else. I have better things to do with my time than to tell people where I’m having coffee or to be told where someone else is having coffee or anything else about their lives. Some days I think J. D. Salinger had the right idea – hole up and write. I’m not a Luddite; I use a computer and the internet for hours every day, in my job and in my writing. I have a couple of web sites and am on Facebook, but the current craze for interaction through social media feels to me like a violation of privacy – mine and everyone else’s. Blogs do seem to offer the kind of safe distance between the person posting and those commenting that makes me more comfortable. And a post on a blog is usually thought out more fully before it goes public.

Nancy Tesler: As a traditionally published author from the pre-internet, pre-ebook days, I am a total dunce when it comes to using social media. I am learning, however, that it’s an important tool for me as an author, to have in my arsenal in order to get my “brand” out there.  Consequently, I do have a website and a Facebook page.  I also, thank God, have a wonderful friend/assistant who helps me.  I have not yet ventured into Twitter or P<interest, partially because I’m intimidated, and partially because I find even Facebook a tremendous time suck. When I see how often some people post, I wonder how they get any work done. It takes too much time out of my day just to read all the posts, much less to post frequently myself.

Having said that, I believe the announcements I posted on Facebook for a recent eBook giveaway were very helpful. I posted at least two announcements with graphics before the three-day-giveaway and one on each subsequent day. The various posts were seen by 150 to 1400 people and I received many more “likes” than I’d had previously.  FB had given me $50.00 to do an ad and I did take advantage of that. Reportedly I had a good click-through rate. How many of those people actually downloaded the book I can’t say. The tremendous success of the promotion and the sales of my five books that have followed, I attribute to my having purchased a featured spot on Bookbub and to a lesser extent on Awesome Gang. Both sites have FB pages and numerous subscribers.

Kicking and screaming I’m being dragged into this new world. I don’t believe any of us can afford to ignore it.

Sue Trowbridge: Before the advent of the Internet, fans would only hear from authors when they had a new book out. I used to get occasional newsletters from writers like Carolyn Hart, Charlotte MacLeod and Elizabeth Peters via the U.S. mail. Today, thanks to social media, it’s possible to keep up with many of our favorites year ‘round. I can see Cara Black’s photos from Paris, find out which New York Times opinion pieces Lev Raphael has been reading, or get a movie recommendation from Lee Goldberg. In addition, I follow publishing industry watchers like Sarah Weinman on Twitter to find out what’s new in the book world. One thing the folks I follow have in common is that they all seem to genuinely enjoy interacting with their fans and friends, and they frequently have useful or fun information to share, not just “BSP.” If social media is not for you, don’t worry about it. Many of my favorite authors, like Peter Robinson and Marcia Muller, don’t have a social media presence at all. It doesn’t make me any less likely to buy their books. I think all fans recognize that the most important thing an author can write is not a status update – it’s an excellent book!

Wendy Hornsby: I have resisted the social media.  Like Rip van Winkle, I had a long nap in my publishing career.  Not as long a nap as his, but during which as much change in what was familiar occurred as his did. In 2009, when In the Guise of Mercy was published by Perseverance Press, I had been away for a decade, except for short stories. I was encouraged to start a webpage and to go on Facebook and to join various Listserv groups. I did what I had time and resources for.  But it seems that every week there is something more, and each new medium requires both more time and more tending. Honestly, because I am still teaching full time, and writing, I find the social media to be a great time suck. How productive is it?  I don’t know.

Recently, I participated in a writing project led by my friend Tim Hallinan. After the success of an anthology of donated short stories to raise money for Japanese relief after the great tsunami, Tim asked the participants to next contribute to a book about how various authors, twenty of us, create stories. Do we plot meticulously, or do we fly by the seat of our pants? The product of our conversation is a very fun book called Making Story.

The project was interesting from the beginning, and continues to be. When Making Story was first released as an E-book original, and then a paper and ink POD, we all posted on Facebook, blogged and tweeted like mad. I wrote about the book in my bi-weekly newspaper column, hawked it whenever I spoke about writing. With the efforts of twenty authors, the initial sales soared. And when the efforts faded, so did sales. We bottomed out at #300,000.

To bolster sales again, during the period from April 12 to 16, in honor of Income Tax Day, we offered the book online through Amazon, for free. Once again, we all hit the social media by storm.  By Friday morning, April 12, Making Story was number one on Amazon in the category of books about writing.  By Sunday morning, it was in the top 100 of non-fiction e-books.

It will be interesting to see if all the work to promote the book when it was free will help sells when it is back at its regular $3.99 bargain bite.

Do the social media sell books? Sure, given enough time, effort, and variety of postings. Would I alone be able to create such a move in the rankings as twenty of us working together affected? Nope. I know that there are bloggers, tweeters, reviewers and Likers (is that a new noun?) for hire at the rate of about five bucks per post. But I’m a school teacher so I doubt I’ll ever go that route.

For now, I have a web page, I check Facebook every week or so, I post on the getitwrite.wordpress.com blog for Perseverance Press authors and post on various guest blogs.  I write my newspaper column, “No Mystery Here,” for the Grunion Gazette.  And at the moment, that’s about all I can manage. Tweeting? If you explain why I should, maybe, after I retire.

Janet Dawson: Yep, it is a time suck. Which is why I don’t post on Facebook that often. I blog here with my fellow PP authors and I have my own blog, Got It Write. I view blogging as an opportunity to write short pieces about whatever catches my fancy. But sometimes it’s several weeks between posts. I was on Twitter for about a year but I still don’t get it, so I got off that one. I did get on Pinterest and am having fun with it, simply because it’s a place to post all the cute kitty pictures of my fabulous felines and my beautiful roses. Does it sell books? Maybe. But I work full time, which means writing time is at a premium. I simply don’t have the time or the inclination to devote several hours a day to social media, at least not right now. In fact, I just put up a sign on my desk that reads “Write First!”

2 Responses

  1. Congratulations to all of you for your efforts! For the record, Perseverance Press wouldn’t require anyone to spend time on social media; we do think authors should have a website, but that’s as far as we go. It seems to me that DorothyL, CrimeThruTime, and the like are social media, as they encourage back-and-forth conversations w/ readers, fans, and fellow mystery enthusiasts. If you have access to the things I’ve mentioned, I’m not sure what purpose the newer social media serve.

  2. Great job Janet! Thanks for doing this–and just as you’re recuperating from pneumonia. I guess no one knows what really works. So we stumble blindly through the wilds of social media and hope that something, somewhere, will stick.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,900 other followers

